I can write.

So, as you may know (if you’ve been keeping up with my previous posts), just last month, I finished writing a novel. And by finished writing a novel, I mean that I spend a bit under thirty days haphazardly dashing down almost 60 thousand words vaguely forming a plot that could be considered a cohesive piece.

There was many a time where I seriously doubted my own sanity. I mean, what kind of lunatic actually believes that they can write an entire novel in just a month? What demon could have possessed me to do such a beautifully dangerous thing?

There was many a time where I doubted whether or not I could actually do it. There were the terrible nights when the clock furiously declared that it was already 11, and I was over a thousand words behind schedule, but I still had oh-so-important projects I needed to finish. There were days when the words just wouldn’t come out, and I would sit by my laptop – hands poised over the keyboard, ready to type at a moment’s notice – for hours at a time to no avail.

But somewhere along with the sleepless nights and endless cups of coffee – between the incoherent dialogue and writers’ block, hidden amongst the frustrations and the dismay – I realized something: I can write.

I know, what an epiphany, right? How utterly mind blowing. What a life-changing and avant-garde thing of me to say. Of course, I know that most of us can write. This might not come as such a big surprise to you. It might be something that you learned to do in kindergarten – perhaps you may be thinking I’m insulting your intelligence.

Bear with me though.

I can write. I can actually and truly write.

How interesting it is that I can write. How interesting it is that the words that make up the very soul of me can come out onto paper and actually make sense in a way my life never can.

The voices that had been bothering the inner recesses of my mind at the most inopportune moments were finally out and on paper. The witty lines and clever repartee that I had been saving up for months had finally found their places. The frustrations I had been saving up for a rainy day made their way bursting out onto the blank screen. The story that had somehow wormed its way into my heart was finished for anyone to see.

Of course, it was more than just the writing per se. I did feel rather excessive bursts of joy upon reaching certain word goals, but it was also so much more than just simply that.

It’s rather difficult to explain, but I’ll go ahead and try to paint you a picture.

The blank screen stares right at me. The cursor blinks into and out of existence, almost mockingly. I sit there, prepared to let all the voices screaming into my mind out. Almost without a warning, my mind goes near-blank and I begin writing furiously. Do I want to stop? Absolutely. But I do not. I carry on anyway and write and write and write until I am so sick of writing that I want to hurl my laptop out the window. And then I write even more.

It doesn’t sound very appealing, does it? But in that moment, just for a single moment, everything draws into perfect focus. It is a rather strange kind of moment where black is black, white is white, and you know your life is, and always will be, directly between the two. If you asked me in my addled state, I probably could not tell you what my own name was. However, I felt like how I imagine Buddhist monks must feel like in their meditation. I felt Nirvana as I wrote; let me tell you, there is no better feeling than going over your work the next morning and feeling entranced in the writing as though it was not you, but rather some higher being, who had written it for you.

And oh, how addictive it is. Once you have had a taste of that crystal-clear moment of beauty, then anything else pales in comparison. You just want to have it over and over again. I felt like a drug addict who would go to any extremes to get what he wanted. I felt like a hopeless fool, utterly in love with the idea of writing a novel. I felt like countless other metaphors I can’t even think of right now.

There are plenty other metaphors I might use to describe the experience of writing a novel, I must say.

Writing a novel is like skydiving. Absolutely terrifyingly beautiful.

Writing a novel is like driving a car at night. You can only see right in front of you, and you aren’t completely sure where the road is. But if you take it one little bit at a time, you’ll eventually get somewhere.

This one is by far my favorite though. Writing a novel is like giving birth to a baby. Once it’s born, you will love that baby and think it’s beautiful. But then it’s going to grow up, and you don’t know who that baby is going to hang out with. You don’t know if people will like it or not. In fact, it’s practically assured that some people will not like it one bit. And there is nothing you can do about it, really.

Perhaps that is the best lesson of all from NaNoWriMo. It doesn’t matter if anyone likes your novel (or if anyone reads it at all, actually). What matters is the writing itself, the experience of utter nerve-wracking, anxiety-inducing, joyous endorphin-high that comes along with writing a novel.

226 comments on “I can write.

  1. paulaacton says:

    I understand your feeling totally if only that high could continue through the seemingly endless rounds of editing lol

  2. I hear ya sisiter! I just finished writing mine and I’m so proud of myself that I don’t care if people don’t like it. However, I hope yours does well!

  3. idogiveanf says:

    Novels! Novels! Keep churning out those novels and keep them. Who knows, someday it might get the publishing it deserves.

  4. David Emeron says:

    Bravo, young Miss! I have a secret regarding novels. Perhaps, I’ll tell you, when…. no, in fact, I mean I will tell you, when I sense you will understand. Until then, keep writing. So often have I tried, myself, to stop. No; some of just simply must do it.

  5. David Emeron says:

    some of us — I do type much faster than I think…. And too quick am I to click the “send” button.

  6. Paula calls it. The euphoria, which is lovely, withers a bit when it’s time to revise…and revise….and revise.
    Then, editors. :-)

  7. You are a very talented writer (that is clear from your posts) with a clear understanding of the mix of pain and pleasure that comes from writing. Pursue this avenue, no matter the obstacles (or what other people tell you you ‘should’ do with your life). It will be worth it. I have a feeling you will be a fantastically successfully writer someday.

  8. Heather says:

    Amazing stuff. I went through the same thing! :)

  9. Writing is a mad business, but you’re right, it is addictive. That feeling of being lost in another world, and rediscovering what you have written when you come back to earth – there’s nothing like it. NaNoWriMo is a wild ride, but the pressure it puts on you to just jump in and keep swimming, is what makes it work. There’s no time to agonize over perfect sentences or even whether the plot makes any sense. But it leaves us in the end, with a skeleton we can flesh out at our leisure. Congratulations on your first novel!

  10. I agree with all of your feelings about how writing makes you feel. I hope I can have that same feeling of exuberance when I finally finish my novel. Time to create some time lines!! Good for you.

  11. Yelly says:

    Well done! I have told myself countless times to just sit down and start writing THE novel. I envy you! :)

    • Thank you! I’m sure you can do it – just keep putting down the words that feel right, and you’ll get there in no time at all.

      • Yelly says:

        Thanks much! I wrote a “novel” when I was fifteen and my sister, who has read it says that it was good. I wish I could be that brave again. It’s just taking that first step that’s a huge hump to get over! I should really start…maybe that should be my first thing to do in 2013? :)

      • It definitely should be on your New Year’s Resolutions, I think. :) And if not, you can always try Camp NaNoWriMo in April – it’s a novel in a month workshop, but even if you don’t write an entire novel in a month, you can at least get the community of writers and resources you’ll need.

  12. Amber Barry says:

    Love this! Congratulations on finishing your novel!

  13. hehe i love it! So true!
    even i would love to write a novel!
    right now i just have enough time to write articles and poems!
    Anyway can you please chck out my blog? i am doing a moment kinda thing and i require everone’s support! thank u!:)

  14. ljanderson91 says:

    Ahh I love this! I’ve always wanted to write a book, but when it comes down to it, it’s like everything in the universe is blocking me! I sit down and stare at my laptop screen for hours at a time and my fingers won”t move or i’ll start writing and everything that I have written, seems to not just flow!.

    This is great :)

    • Well, I guess the thing is to just keep writing, no matter how horrible the words may sound. Because there’s always time to edit later, but if you self-edit before you even begin, well, then you might miss out on all the words you wanted to say.

      Thank you! :)

  15. lexiesnana says:

    Congratulations on a big undertaking. Hope to see you in bookstores.

  16. Congratulations, you have taken the first step. Without a rough draft, a writer has nothing but dreams floating in the sky with clouds.

    For us writers, who are meant to write, it is an addiction, that monkey on our backs that fills our heads with bloody and seductive scenes in our sleep until we have no choice but to write and give birth to this world that blossomed in our dreams and nightmares. A natural birth is desired but sometimes we must allow ourselves to be sliced open and pull the baby out through a cesarean cut.

    Then the next step begins: editing and revisions to sculpt that rough draft into a readable product.

    I think we could say that step two is raising our child so he or she may grow up and be ready to face the world. Giving birth is actually the easiest part of a writer’s journey.

    Usually, before step two beings, we set that rough draft aside for a few weeks or months to get some distance from it and then return for the tedious step two. And it is tedious because our addicted writer’s brain wants to move on to the next story and usually hates lingering over the one we already delivered through days, weeks, months or years of labor. But as a parent, we have an obligation to make sure that child we gave birth to has a chance to survive in the brutal competition of the publishing, reading world.

    For example, there is the rough draft of my next novel: after five years of writing and rewriting it out of UCLA’s writing extension program twenty-five years ago, it eventually ended up gathering dust in the garage—after my agent spent a year struggling to find a publisher, that is. For most of us, after our prose child is ready to enter the world, it usually faces much rejection. But during those years, I didn’t stop writing and ended up publishing another work first.

    But the responsibility of an author/parent does not end there. Once step two has been completed, then the real work begins and it never ends: publication and promotion while the parent builds his or her author platform to attract potential readers for that child going out into the world to stand a chance at survival.

    May fortune shine on you as you start your journey as a writer. I wrote my first rough draft novel in 1968 and found an agent who shared in the early rejections of that work. Today, my work sells, in English only, around the world, but my wife’s work has been translated into thirty-three languages (one of them English) and has sold millions of copies. Her first work in 1992 was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year and won the Carl Sandburg Award

    And her journey as an author has been more painful and arduous than mine.

    After seven books and number eight being delivered in April/May of 2013, my wife still worries that her latest child will not find an audience, because there is no guarantee that anyone will want to read what we write.

    • Oh wow. That’s so amazing. I hope that one day I can get a novel published as well. :)

      Although, I think, whether other people will like your words or not, what matters is that they are what you have to say, and that you have said them.

      • True, what a writer has to say, wants to say, needs to say through his or her prose is more important than writing what some undefined mob may want.

        As for one day getting a novel published, it is easier today than at any time in history. Although I do not recommend it without editing and revisions, you could actually publish your current rough draft manuscript in the next hour or so through Amazon Kindle. It takes a bit more effort to publish a paperback through Create Space and LSI.

        In a nut shell, here are the four choices.

        1. traditional publishing (what we think of as traditional because that’s the way it has been for about a century now) where the author researches the market place then sends out query letters to agents to see if a lit agent will represent his or her work to publishers.

        2. vanity publishing (pay someone several thousand dollars to print a few thousands books that are shipped to your house and then it is up to the author to go book store to book store, etc. struggling to sell those copies)

        3. self publishing (pay someone such as iUniverse, LuLu, Publish America, etc or one of the other publishers that charges to publish–they publish everything and anything no matter the quality–and sell an author’s work through the Internet). This may also cost thousands of dollars.

        4. indie publishing (launch your own imprint and become a small publisher where the author also may publish other authors besides his or her own work). This choice is maybe the best option today, thanks to Create Space, LSI and Amazon Kindle, and it can be mostly cost free except for the author’s time. One example of the is Amanda Hocking and I suggest you watch her video. Amanda is not selling you anything. The video I have included is her story. Now she is one of the few self/indie published giants that succeeded beyond her wildest dreams.

        Amanda first tried to go with traditional publishing and spent eight years at it before she decided to self publish.

    • Posy says:

      Oh yes. I know the feeling very well. I think I went through about everything you did along with a lot of physical pain because of a new desktop computer rather than my trusty laptop and a horrid chair. haha

      I did the NaNoWriMo Camp NaNo this summer because I don’t work summer’s and actually have long stretches of time to write. It went for June and then again in August. I bravely signed up for both thinking there was no way I’d succeed because I failed at NaNo each year I tried. (Why the hell do they do it in November? That’s like the worst month ever. Why not February or March when people are stuck inside to escape the snow?)

      I was so surprised by how well I did, and I swear to God, I learned more about me as a writer through this experience than anything else. I loved the visuals of the word goal chart and I wrote until I had met my goal each day. Something really simple, but wow, did it work for me. I also found I can push through those blocks I used to just come up to and then quit. I discovered WriteorDie and realized that while it’s a good tool, I hate it enough to just push myself further on those good days so I have my muse being willing.

      I wrote 80K words in June and since I was working on a trilogy, I just kept on writing. Shifting gears to the a different story line within a story arc was a little discombobulating, but I managed. July I got over 80K too. August was my best month. I finished my third novel of nearly 90K in a little over 2 weeks. I was obviously inspired. And honestly, very sick of writing. My body needed to move, my wrists hurts, and I needed a tan. But I’ve had 3 books to edit ever since, aside from the time I had to take off to work on the book I released last month. But I’ll do Camp NaNo again.

  17. Lynn Daue says:

    Writing is addictive. I participated in NaNoWriMo for the first time in 2005, and I’ve been hooked ever since. Have I written a novel–or any fiction, even–that I want people to read? Hell no. But the experience is absolutely beautiful. (Even more so when you have a family that understands that MOMMY IS WRITING IN THE CLOSET AND YOU WILL NOT BUG HER UNTIL SHE COMES OUT!)

  18. Great post, congratulations on being Freshly Pressed. So many words in such a short time – my novel progresses at 1,500 words per week! Are you sure you meant metaphors rather than similes? Keep on writing. . .

  19. beingeternal says:

    You can actually write. Just keep writing. Wanna say that I started liking your writing young lady.:)

  20. jsgoldstine says:

    “Writing a novel is like giving birth to a baby.” is my favorite as well. It speaks the truth!

  21. jumeirajames says:

    Well done and congratulations on being freshly pressed.

    I wrote a ‘novel’ in 30 days then spent two years writing the real novel.

    Hard work but very gratifying

  22. pseudomonaz says:

    Keep writing…someday you are gonna get it published, i am sure about that. congrats for being freshly pressed. You deserve it!

  23. Wow you’re quite a unique writer. I am impressed. Kudos.

  24. Yes, you described it exactly!!

  25. Congrats on completing the novel. I just started trying to write one and I’m going to try and finish it ASAP but a month might be too adventurous for my tastes!

  26. chinks2711 says:

    Oh my god!! Igot this feeling just a few years back. I can write!! It indeed is thebest feeling ever. Loved the metaphors!

  27. Dan Hennessy says:

    Agatha Christ used to dictate her novels as she walked in her garden . Her secretary wrote them down . Writing irrelevant . Don’t be so smug . [I'm just kidding ]

  28. EmaniseJ says:

    haha I’ve have yet to participate in NaNoWriMo, but I know about that novel high. I wrote a novel two summers ago, still in it’s editing phase. It’s like you’re on top of the world when your thoughts and keystrokes are in sync. Writers Block to me finally means editing. Great job!

  29. juanluisnews says:

    So true, writing is about enjoying the process. keep going !

  30. Well duh! (Sorry, perhaps my sarcasm won’t translate – what I mean is, obviously you can write. Even just this one blog post proves that much.

  31. jimmydevious says:

    Writing a novel in a month really is an achievement. When I finished my first attempt at it, I thought I was going at a furious pace, and it took me two whole years. ;) So you should be patting yourself on the back. Take a breather.

    Enjoy it. You’ve earned it.

    But the REAL “fun part” *evil grin* is soon to come, oh yes….THE REWRITINING! That’s a HUGE pain in the neck that many people can never get through. Writing is all adrenaline, excitement, and creativity. Rewriting is nothing but boredom, drudgery, and the literary equivalent of pulling teeth.

    But once it’s all done, I think it’s worth it. :)

    • Oh gosh. I am utterly terrified of the rewriting. Right now I’m just giving myself a break for the holidays – I’ll edit my novel in January.

      • katemsparkes says:

        Am I the only person who likes rewriting? I love reading over that first draft, laughing at the ridiculous/over-the-top/self-important/stilted bits and flipping into a state approaching rapture over the parts that are actually good. And thank God, most of my first few novels have been better than I’d expected…

        And then the rewriting, the pulling apart and re-forming, realizing that the little detail you thought was just for fun is actually going to save your heroine’s life at the end, putting new scenes in that let your characters develop and become real, understanding the opportunities you missed and fixing that… I love it.

        Yes, it’s frustrating. Yes, it makes me want to bash my head against the wall just to distract myself from the impossibleness of it all… but you get through it, and then you get to read it over again, and fix it more, and polish it and make it shine…

        *sigh*

        I need to finish the next book now just so I can get to that part. ;)

  32. CONGRATULATIONS :D seriously this is a huge achievement. Perhaps you could write some pointers on how to keep going with an idea. I know several people, including myself with about a thousand first paragraphs in their computers.

  33. One can never have too many epiphanies….

  34. You really do have a writing gift, I can see that from your posts. I wish you success with your novel, and many others!

  35. I love writing but don’t have that much time… I have the subject…
    http://www.kodiakmylittlegrizzly.com

  36. segmation says:

    You are so lucky to be able to write. Good luck and much success and best of all, thanks for sharing!

  37. Ritu KT says:

    Wow, you really can write and it is your writing that got your post Freshly Pressed. I would love to read your novel. Wish you All The Best!

  38. I know the feeling about sitting down in front of the computer, and nothing comes. I used to write novels, but now am thinking about screenplays and directing. I think your writing is exceptional, and like the previous commenter said, you were good enough to get freshly pressed on wordpress. Keep chugging away at it and I hope to have a chance to check out your book. What is it about anyway?

    • Thank you! :)

      This is the synopsis of the novel, if you’re interested.

      “Katherine Brookes has everything anyone could ask for. She’s a twenty year old college student with good grades, a nice family, and the best friends a girl could have. Her band, Youthful Indiscretion, is well on its way to becoming an underground hit.

      One day, a mysterious package and an apology note arrives in the mail. The package contains a blank iPod. The apology note is unsigned. She doesn’t think much of it at first.

      The next day though, the iPod has a song on it. And the day after, and the day after, and the day after. This goes on for several weeks, and Katherine realizes that the songs are more than just songs – they’re messages, words of advice, telling her what to do.

      It’s pretty great at first. But then her world starts breaking down – the sweet, charming girl crumbles into an absolute nightmare. And Katherine is left alone and hopeless, with nothing but the iPod that caused it all left to her. After all, what can you do when the monster is inside of you?”

  39. Joe Owens says:

    Damsel, I agree getting on the FP board means you definitely have the writing skill. It is also impressive you committed to and completed NaN0oWriMo.

  40. Reblogged this on FotoPhilm and commented:
    Awesome blog post about the writing process that I remember all too well when I was writing my novels. Check it out. It’s inspired me to write some more. I think I’ll start working on that script idea I had the other day…. :)

  41. miss ashley says:

    I can admit that I have never attempted writing a novel. But, I do get a surge of euphoria when I have the “writing bug”. The energy that seemingly comes from nowhere. I love your metaphors. And, congrats on completing your goal!

    • You definitely should at least try it sometime. Although novel writing is not for everyone, you never know until you try it out. :)

      Thank you!

      • miss ashley says:

        I definitely should journey down that path. But it does intimidate me. I tend to sabotage myself from completing tasks that I come close to finishing. Something about the psychology of being afraid to succeed, to meander from the comfort of failure. But, thank you, you’ve definitely inspired me to reconsider.

  42. Sanctuary says:

    Congratulations. My Novel is just over 80k words and I’m still editing and revising. NaNo never ends ‘twould seem.

  43. meagan mac says:

    I’m with ya: “What matters is the writing itself…” Congrats on the novel! That’s a big accomplishment. I’m still working on mine. :-)

  44. mrmoongoat says:

    Great novels come from great angst, it seems, so you’re on the right track :) Keep writing, I’m digging your blog so far.

  45. Red Toenails says:

    It’s like runner’s high in no motion.

  46. S. Thomas Summers says:

    Hearty congratulations of the completion of your novel. I am almost done with my second book of poetry. It’s a good feeling!!

    Now, maybe you can teach me how to up my blog readership?

    All the best,

    S. Thomas Summers
    Author of Private Hercules McGraw: Poems of the American Civil War

  47. megancheetah says:

    Good job! I love the background! It looks so cool! :-)

  48. Matt says:

    Congrats on finishing the novel and the epiphany and all of that!

  49. idogiveanf says:

    Congratulations dear Gab! It won’t stop here, definitely. =)

  50. Now that you’ve done the easy part. The Hard part is to re-write.

  51. luvnorcal says:

    I tried Nanowrimo once but never followed through- wish I had, it sounds like a fantastic experience!

  52. S.C. says:

    I write a lot, but I never could bring myself to write a novel or even a short story. It’s something about writing convincing relationships between characters – I just can’t seem to do it. Creative writing takes a special kind of skill that it sounds like you’ve got.

  53. aapatawaran says:

    “How interesting it is that the words that make up the very soul of me can come out onto paper and actually make sense in a way my life never can.”

    This line from your post struck a nerve. It would be an honor if you could visit my blog aapatawaran.com Write Here Write Now (I am sharing here with you a link to two of my most recent posts)

    http://aapatawaran.com/2012/12/22/the-question-is-who-are-you/
    http://aapatawaran.com/2012/12/23/if-by-rudyard-kipling/

    Thank you and good luck on the writing.

  54. mihirkamat says:

    Congrats on the novel, and on being FP! I’m getting started on my own novel, should be around in a few months time.

  55. There is nothing like the moment when writing ‘clicks’ together – and what a great feeling that is. It’s got little to do with words and much to do with the emotion, shapes and patterns of the content. Good on you! And thank you for sharing your experience – good stuff.

  56. indytony says:

    I don’t know whether to congratulate you or send you some of my medication. Seriously, I applaud your effort in a job well done. Now, be sure to devote as much (or more) attention to editing (and try to get some sleep).

  57. WOW, that is some feat, churning it out in just one month! What a sense of achievement you must feel!
    I write for a living, but I’ve never tackled a big project like that, and I don’t believe I could actually write a novel, never mind one that was any good! To me, it would matter if people read it or not, I wouldn’t write something if there was no market for it, so to speak. But I admire people who do, who just need to get it down no matter what, who have that kind of passion.
    Well done :-)

    • Yes, it certainly is. :) But having a great support community at NaNoWriMo really helped push it through.

      Well, I guess I just have words that I need to say. It would be great if people would hear them, but even if they don’t, at least I said what needed to be said.

  58. shunpwrites says:

    I feel your pain… I most certainly do!

  59. Notadamselindistress, bravo! This was the first year I registered for Nanowrimo and though I had I hopes, I came no where near the 50,000 words. Se la vie. I’ll give it a go next year and I shall look to you as inspiration. You have a lovely spirit!

  60. Vanesa says:

    Reblogged this on Paint and commented:
    Wow…

  61. Reblogged this on Bored American Tribune. and commented:
    – J.W.

  62. Congratulations!!!!!! You’ve done something *huge* by writing a novel..I didn’t have the courage to even try and participate in NaNoWriMo …Btw I enjoyed reading your post!

  63. thephilosopheress says:

    You are a lovely girl.

    I can tell, if you keep this attitude and this ability to articulate your feelings and emotions in writing, you will not just be a famous writer, but you will be able to change people’s lives. It is very ironic how the essence of humans is their socialization and their ability to talk, yet the most awful thing they do is communication.

    We don’t just fail to express how we feel or describe it, but we are also lousy in communicating with one another. “That’s not what I meant at all” grows everyday to be the core problem of misunderstanding between people. Psychological problems occur and develop when people fail to vent out their frustrations or happiness!

    Writing/communicating is a gift, I believe, we should thank for. If someone can’t write himself, he might feel better if at least he can find someone who is able to describe on his behalf his state of mind.

    Keep it up, girl – you may one day save someone’s life with your words.

  64. hellokathy says:

    Wow, I failed so hard at NaNoWriMo this year! So I bow to you for even finishing and probably writing something that makes sense.

  65. It’s a nice presentation of your streaming consciousness .. keep up the work and who knows you may get shortlisted in the major literary awards.. by d way i wud like to read your novels.. where can i find?

  66. AH says:

    Lovely . I tried -and failed in nanowrimo for the second year in a row but I liked the experience

  67. potterfan97 says:

    You are a very talented writer! I am looking forward to seeing where you take your talents to next.

  68. gullhasnat says:

    Before I say anything else I have to push my caps lock button and say this: YOU ARE AN AMAZING WRITER. AND I WANT THAT NOVEL!!
    Alright, now that we have that clear and out, let me just add that I bow down to your hard work. I followed your earlier posts ( yes I am shy of writing on other’s posts but my excitement just wouldn’t keep today) and when I finally got over my laziness and checked your blog today only to get to read this, I smiled with joy and then frowned with jealousy (because I wanted to be the first to congratulate you).
    Late or not, I am here, a small part of your huge amazing happiness and wanting you to know, I will always be so happy for you.
    YAY on the novel completion again.

    Gull

  69. gullhasnat says:

    oh, btw, I love you!

  70. lumosinsempra says:

    Congratulations on your success! I absolutely agree with you – it’s about the enjoyment and the exhilaration of the writing. In the end, it’s something for you, an expression of you – I love your enthusiasm for the craft and I wish you the best of luck as you go forward.

  71. dre lynn says:

    your last paragraph is what stuck with me and i have the exact same motto when it comes to my photography. the process is just as important as the outcome. i wish you the best of luck on your adventures with writing.

    dre

  72. Shareen says:

    You are my super hero, you’ve inspired me. I’m sure your book will be incredible.

  73. Sundayink says:

    Thanks for sharing. I havent written any novel yet but I could feel how writting one would be like. Post was very inpiring for me.

  74. VaL Herrera says:

    glad to read a blog from a Filipina! Mabuhay! :)

  75. Marissa says:

    Reblogged this on iknowsquat and commented:
    I can write.

  76. obsidianfactory says:

    Awesome blog. Awesome write. Awesome writer? Yup.

    I would like to have conversations with you. You are quite intelligent and you have a beautiful style.

  77. Sam McManus says:

    I did NaNoWriMo this year too for the first time, and it was an amazing experience. I feel you girl! Glad to hear from a fellow Wrimer! Keep it up.

  78. candra1983 says:

    Congratulations to your Novel! I know the NaNoWriMo but never used it. I´m trying – with focus on trying to become an Author as well. People that wrote my stuff until now all say that i can write but I doubt in myself of course as well. I know that I´m not the worst but could a girl like me keep it up with those really talented authors? I would be interested if you hand in your script somewhere and what they might say. :) Good luck if you do!

  79. limyhalo says:

    This is probably one of the greatest descriptions of writing ive ever seen, if I wanted somebody to advertise writing to me then I’d pick you

  80. Elizabeth says:

    This was truly inspiring! I have wanted to write a novel for as long as I can remember, but for one reason or another I never seem to stick to a plan and just get it done. I’m afraid to write it and then not have nay interest. I would write to get published and from all that I’ve heard of the publishing world, it doesn’t sound like an easy task, especially for someone like me who doesn’t have anything published and is new to the whole process.
    What made you want to get it done? Did you have plans for the book prior to starting it? I’m interested to know if it was just a personal goal or something you were pursuing professionally.
    Congrats on being freshly pressed!!!

  81. iammarcello says:

    Well done, good luck with your work!

  82. bosmosis says:

    You’ve got the right idea – it’s important to write even when you think there’s nothing to say. The idea that changed my whole approach to writing was when I finally understood that inspiration is the result of writing, not the cause.

    Good luck and enjoy the process.

  83. Brent Oh says:

    Writing is good for our better life.
    Writing is good for the writer’s better life even though it isn’t good for someone’s better life.
    (((Be happy)))

  84. BohPo says:

    There is hope for me yet then. Thanks for the inspiration!

  85. Carolina says:

    I love this line, “How interesting it is that the words that make up the very soul of me can come out onto paper and actually make sense in a way my life never can.” This is how I feel about telling my story. I just start to write with a vague sense of where I want to begin, and oftentimes, the ideas just branch off from that first seedling. I don’t usually know how it will all tie together, but then somehow, it does. And then I step back, reread what I wrote, and think, wow, that is amazing. Where did that insight, honesty, and wisdom come from? This is the gift of writing. The great blessing that keeps us writing over and over again. A higher wisdom steps in and takes over while we write. It is a meditative practice that aligns us with our essence, our spirit. We grow, we learn, we heal, we cry, we feel alive, and we love all the more by writing our stories. And we begin to live life with more meaning. Oh, how we love to write.

  86. wrenhill815 says:

    I understand how you felt about just letting the words come out and releasing them from the prison that is our minds.

    Hats off to you for writing a novel. For the life of me, I have tried countless times.
    But I find the my words and thoughts prefer the beauty that is poetry.

    Kudos! :D

  87. Imprecise Motif says:

    Wow. when can i even have the skill to write one. it’s actually one of my dreams. every time i try to do it, my mind just turns into a huge chaos of thoughts. congrats on being freshly pressed!

  88. From this post I can tell you are a writer. And it won’t be long before you’ll feel another story kicking within you…good luck.

  89. Loyolas says:

    I admire you for completing such an extensive project! I don’t know how many times I’ve heard friends and people say “I’m going to write a novel” but how many actually start writing or typing at their computer? And more so, how many actually complete their novel? I wish I had what it took to write a novel! Also, I know your novel is great because you are great with the words and the language! :)

  90. hodrobpub says:

    Hallo Gabbie
    I have just started a publishing company and I am seeking original Authors. Are you interested? My name is Bill and I am not a Knight in shining armour.

  91. Flippyman says:

    It’s great that you enjoy writing, because you need to write a lot in order to get good at it, just like with everything else. Great post.

  92. Congratulations and best way to begin the new year! All the best for it’s success!

  93. Megan Olson says:

    I love this piece. I think all writers have a moment when they realize that writing is not only a passion but a part of their personality. I wrote one called “The Spirit of a Writer”( it actually inspired my blog) I would love for you to read it!

  94. Burlap's House says:

    Writing is one way to explore your imagination, your emotions and yourself. Whatever you’ll explore, believe that it’s worthy :D

  95. mcgeeles says:

    It’s true. The gift is in the act of writing. The rest comes later. answerswithin.wordpress.com

  96. jazzedmind says:

    yeah’ the gift of writing is from the heart and with passion, continue doing it. :) thumbs up.

  97. kathunsworth says:

    Wow, I am half way through my first novel, and can relate to those feelings of what it feels like to get it all onto the page. There are so many people out there trying to live their dreams. Good luck my biggest problem is the hard work, in editing I go over and over my work but cant get to the end due to my lack of knowledge in Grammar and punctuation, but it is not going to stop me from finishing my first novel. Thanks for sharing enjoyed reading.

  98. [...] I Can Write: Me thinks thou doth protest to much. Starting a post by saying “I can write” is like starting a date by saying “Hey, you look beautiful tonight. I DON’T HAVE HERPES.” [...]

  99. Did the NaNoWriMo myself, what a wild ride. Your words exactly capture the euphoria and angst that experience encompasses. I am reblogging this post to my writing blog and congrats on being Pressed!

  100. Reblogged this on Rhubarb! Rhubarb! and commented:
    This young woman says it all, she’s written the post I would have written about the NaNoWriMo experience if I had the time or energy.

  101. stephpickett says:

    Wow that is truly amazing. Finishing a novel is a feat in and of itself, but in a MONTH!!! I can’t even imagine. I began writing a novel four years ago and it’s still not done. I wrote and wrote until I hit a wall. Then tried to start somewhere else. But life always seems to get in the way of finishing. I have sat down recently trying to actually do it this time. I hope to be as successful as you, but if I get it all down in a year I will consider myself lucky. Congratulations, and best of luck editing!!!

  102. Thank you for your words. In a month, you’ve accomplished more than some do in a life time. If you never wrote another word, you can smile because you accomplished your goal. I applaud you my friend. :) http://www.charliemccoin.wordpress.com

  103. isguardiola says:

    Good for you! You can write and you finished that monumental task of completing your novel; congratulations. I can write, too. I know I can, but tackling a novel is to much for me at this point. Every now and then I write something that I think is good, but then I feel like I could never do it again, but then I do. So, I too can write, I think.

  104. emikomusic says:

    Absolutely awesome post. Glad I randomly stumbled upon it!

  105. Arianne Z. says:

    Writing about writing. I like it. Oh, and I’m following you now, Just because I CAN :)

  106. I have been pondering writing for 20 years……everyone tells me “Lisa…..WRITE” and I become frozen in fear the minute I sit down to do it. You have inspired me to just do it. No one has to read it but me if I so choose….that is liberating so thank you for giving me that little shove I so desperately needed. and CONGRATULATIONS!!!
    Lisa

  107. “It doesn’t sound very appealing, does it? But in that moment, just for a single moment, everything draws into perfect focus. It is a rather strange kind of moment where black is black, white is white, and you know your life is, and always will be, directly between the two.” Perfect. You really can write. Love this post.

  108. Kimbernator says:

    I envy you and all your writing friends out there. How wonderful to have so much talent!! :)

  109. PERFECT! I know exactly what you mean about reading it the next morning and being either, shocked, amazed, inspired, horrified, delighted, terrified, and exasperated that you were the person that wrote this enlightening, breathtaking, ridiculous THING. : )

  110. juliajones says:

    What a charming blog! I rather enjoyed reading this post. So much that I stopped after the first paragraph and began reading it aloud to my sister who was in the room. :) You have a very interesting writing voice. (And I do mean “interesting” in a good way.)

  111. teamgloria says:

    ah yes.

    writing is a lot like driving at night.

    one never knows what is round the next bend and concentration is deeply important.

    but everything is more magical when one is moving slower than usual, taking care, listening to good music and perhaps sipping from a milky coffee to stay awake on the road.

    happy writing.

    and don’t stop.

    until it’s dawn.

    waving from los angeles.

    _teamgloria xx

  112. pernicieuse says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post. For a while I’ve been needing an inspiration to write again and you’ve given it to me! I especially enjoyed the part when you explained how it was like to read over your own work – as though some “higher being” wrote it instead – I feel that way a lot of the time as well. :)

    Keep up the great work! I look forward to reading more things by you, and this new novel that you will hopefully publish one day.

  113. [...] was one of the many great Freshly Pressed posts today and the best part is that it was written by a 14-year-old girl who will undoubtedly go on to string together more lovely paragraphs like [...]

  114. Keeley Wilmington says:

    Love this! Very refreshing, and honest! I am taking a stab at blogging and your posts have given me a little hope, topped with some insight. Bravo young lady! Cheers to your New Year!

  115. I completed NaNoWriMo this year too and it was an amazing experience. Congrats on your accomplishment!

  116. Ready Ok Go! says:

    I love those moments of clarity!

  117. roe2me says:

    My Nano attempt was a bust but I’ll do better next year. Glad you took on the challenge and hi from a fellow fan of writing.

  118. Jessica says:

    Awesome post. Congrats on making it through til the end, and good luck with your future writing too!

  119. milsandhills says:

    I loved this so much! I’m in the process of novel-writing but I’m finding it slow going and there are so many times where I either lose motivation for several weeks or just can’t seem to find the words I need. Then inspiration will strike and I’ll be hammering words down on the keyboard, and as you said, read back over it with a strange sort of wonder, like someone else wrote it, and yet it’s too familiar for that to be possible. In fact, after reading this I will now go and do some novel-writing. Thanks for the inspiration ;)

  120. Ankit says:

    Thank you…. I have been trying hard to force myself to complete the projects I have started and you just did the trick.
    You put down everything which goes through my head as I stare at that blank paper.
    Looking forward to more of your posts….
    Once again, Thank You :)

  121. i just loved this…it was like you spoke my mind…though i haven’t ever written a book…just bits and pieces here and there…but this was heartfelt…it mirrored my heart…just a gorgeous piece…wish you success on your book…

  122. changeme10 says:

    well done! You’re so talented. :)

  123. You just described my NaNo experience as well! It sure feels good just to finish, doesn’t it? Now the editing begins…and I need to up the word count to make it ‘more publishable’. Love your similes!

  124. kabe1 says:

    You have inspired me to get going – I’ve wanted to write that novel for years and years and I’ve started blogging as my little beginnings. Perhaps 2013 is the year I get to experience what you have. Well done you!

  125. anildeshmukh999 says:

    Absulatly awesome post.i like novels.i hope true ur drems

  126. hpoguillem says:

    Thanks so much for this. Its only recently that i embraced writing. And sometimes it feels like my head is swelling when i write long enough, like its about to explode. Then i get sick of it all and scoff at myself for thinking that i was any good… But then, there’s the “morning-after” when I read what i wrote and can’t believe it came out of me somehow. Writing has got me addicted. I’ve stumbled upon an unlikely recreation. What a geek i’ve become. I hope one day i could churn out novels as fast as you can.

  127. LSdeG says:

    I totally empathize. I think that everyone has a book inside them but only a few are brave enough to let it out. ;)

  128. Ever try writing with pencil and paper? Something strangely comforting about it – that big old white blinking screen not staring you in the face. Try it and lemme know!

  129. Manny says:

    Of course,you can write ! Lovely blog found here.
    Stop writing only when the sun and moon unites. :-)

  130. Sindhu says:

    This is a wonderful piece of writing. You had me hooked from A to Z. Your description of writing and the power it holds over a writer is mesmerizing, refreshing, and honest to the core.

    Yes, you can definitely write! Keep it up.

  131. “How interesting it is that the words that make up the very soul of me can come out onto paper and actually make sense in a way my life never can.” <<< THIS IS EXACTLY HOW I FEEL! Glad to find this featured on Freshly Pressed. Now I'm going to go check out the rest of your blog. :)

  132. neonfish76 says:

    I love the metaphor on writing being like birthing a baby. I referenced it once in a poem. Even the stillborn (our unfinished works) still have meaning. But kudos to you having labored the completion of a novel. Your words are intelligent and well put together on this post, so yep, I’m going to follow your blog. Thanks for sharing :)

  133. howamazingiam says:

    These challenges you speak of are exactly why I find it amazingly rewarding to simply word-vomit my life. I guess that’s not really writing as much as it is storytelling, whichs why I’ll never stop envying you novelists.

  134. captainalb says:

    Hey, just for the heck of it publish it as an e-book on Smash Words and give it away or sell it for 17 cents. Somebody will buy it and then you’ve opened a whole new universe in both our world and the one inside your head. Write on!

  135. otionblog says:

    Congratulations! What a great effort.

  136. D.G. Terry says:

    Oh my. A 14 year old who isn’t a complete idiot and can actually form complete sentences with cohesive thoughts. I think I’m going into a bit of shock here.

    Normally, I weep on a daily basis for the future, but every now and then I come across a kid like you and a tiny bit of faith in humanity is restored. (Insert Freddie Mercury meme here)

    All jokes aside, you’re a good writer, so keep it up. The world needs it. Also, give whoever is raising you a huge hug and thank them, because they are obviously doing something right.

Leave a Reply

